Skip navigation

Now go tell your Mother one last time
That this bottle of gin doesn’t have much time.
I work and I slave and I bleed everyday
The good book says that I should have my way.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
That this towns flooding and its hard to stay dry.
The last thing I want is to have to think.
Go down to Old Jim and buy your Da his drink.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
Ive been looking to the skies, waiting for a sign.
There ain’t nothing but clouds, fighting angels, and rain
Nothing will ever be the same again.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
There is no where else to go to find the Shine.
I look down the road to see what lies ahead
And all that I see is that I’m better off dead.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
That Im being punished yet I’ve done no crime.
On the streets, in the cold, is where I am all day
Why can’t this old nightmare just go away.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
I know that I am mean but I try to be kind.
I’m just living this life of bloody memory
of days trying to fight off that blood sucking Queen.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
That I’ve had enough and I’ll take whats mine.
With fists or with shouts this man will have his say
And then we can move on to a new brighter day.

Now go tell your Mother one last time
That this bottle of gin doesn’t have much time.
I work and I slave and I bleed everyday
The good book says that I should have my way.

3 Comments

  1. It’s kind of sad. It’s really, really good, but I also feel kind of sad.

  2. Yeah in the end it is kind of sad. I think in order for it to be an Irish drinking song it has to be at least a little bit. I mean when you can sing a sad song and laugh then what can be wrong with the world then?

  3. You may be right there. I know so little about Irish culture.


Leave a Reply

